Get Your Poem On 52/ Featuring at Evie Ivy’s Reading Series at the Green Pavilion in Brooklyn, NY

Though the trip from the Bronx to Brooklyn is long, it was SOOOOO worth it. I had a great time. First of all, Evie Ivy is a beautiful person and a welcoming host. She had asked me, when she invited me to feature, who I’d like to have as co-features. I was thrilled to have that choice. I told her that two of my favorites were Ron Kolm and Robert Gibbons. She sounded delighted and booked them. I was glad they were available.

Evie begins with the open mic-ers which turned out great for me since I was running late. The reading takes place in a back room, often used for catered banquets for special occasions, of a bar/restaurant at 4307 18th Avenue in Brooklyn, NY. Good food; reasonable prices. Makes me feel at home.

Though I missed the early readers, I really enjoyed the open mic-ers I did get to hear. Most read poetry, some recited without reading, and a few provided music.

After a short break, it was time for the features. Ron Kolm, a well-published poet, read first. He has worked in NYC bookstores most of his adult life. His poems are often riveting stories about those experiences. His style so conversational, I love it.

Robert Gibbons is an award-winning poet, and his performances are often beautifully musical. This was no exception. I was happy listening to him.

Then I was introduced. The audience made me feel warmly welcomed before I even began. I knew some of them but not others. My poems range from sad to angry to hilarious. The audience was amazingly responsive, and I feel so appreciative. There were times the laughter in the room was so loud, I had to wait to continue. I hope I get this at a comedy show. (Besides writing poetry, I write memoir, perform my comedy, and act.)

I left the event on a natural high. Here are some photos:

Ron Kolm, Mindy Matijasevic, Robert Gibbons, and, behind us, our lovely host Evie Ivy
Robert Gibbons, me, Ron Kolm

I am grateful for the whole experience. When I need a ‘happy place’ to go to in my head, this is my latest one. Thanks, Evie.

About Mindy Matijasevic

Writer of nonfiction prose and poetry; actress; comic; adult basic education instructor; proofreader. The name of this blog was inspired by a former student, Camille Williams, who once, in a conversation, used the phrase "get my learn on." I loved it, and it stuck in my head.
This entry was posted in Poetry in NYC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment