Get Your Poem On/ 30 Sharing Goodness

Mindy at Unboxed Voices open mic May 25, 2015  Today, October 17, 2015, Bruce Weber called me to invite me to be a part of the New Year’s Day Alternative Spoken Word Extravaganza. I love being part of that happening to start a new year. There are many readers. It goes on for ten to twelve hours. Each reader gets 3 minutes. As we get closer, I will know what two-hour slot I will be in, and I will share that if anyone wants to go. Year after year, we get to see many familiar faces and hear familiar voices while we share new and/or old work. It is comforting. There is also the reality that some of our poetry family have passed away/on/over (hopefully still seeing and hearing us), and some have moved away from NYC, like one of my favorites, Charles Butler, author of 39 Poems (No Shirt Press). http://blogcritics.org/book-review-39-poems-by-charles/   http://georgewallacepoemtrain-gwallace.blogspot.com/2012/02/39-poems-one-heart.html?spref=fb

Then about an hour later, I received an email informing me that two of my poems – “International Poet” and “Between the Bricks” — were selected for inclusion in an anthology which is expected to be out in December 2015.

It’s not even noon yet! I should play tonight’s lottery and daily number.

A very talented writer I know, Chavisa Woods, is trying to get a camper so her mom won’t be homeless this winter. Please read and give what you can.

https://www.gofundme.com/housing4mom

About Mindy Matijasevic

Writer of nonfiction prose and poetry; actress; comic; adult basic education instructor. The name of this blog was inspired by a former student, Camille Williams, who once, in a conversation, used the phrase "get my learn on." I loved it, and it stuck in my head.
This entry was posted in Poetry in NYC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get Your Poem On/ 30 Sharing Goodness

  1. I’ll be looking forward to hearing you read, Mindy. My favorite event of the poetry year.

Leave a Reply

