Get Your Poem On/ 28 “Shadow of the Geode” at the Nuyorican Poets Cafe

Mindy August 2013 Herald Square n  The Alternative New Year’s Day Spoken Word Extravaganza was a wonderful way to begin 2015.  And I noticed this year wasn’t as freezing as other years, which was a gift.  When I arrived, I saw my friend Mindy Levokove.  I had missed her reading/performing, but it felt so special that she was part of my new year’s day.  I didn’t expect to see her, so it was a great surprise and felt like a good omen.  The first reader I heard was a woman from the open mic list named Emily who is a teacher in DC and did a poem that brought me to tears with her passion for her students and her realization she’d been raised in “bubble wrap” and wears “a vest bullet proofed by history.”

Though there are always new voices in the mix, there’s that comforting feeling of seeing many of the same poetry peeps year after year.  And no matter how many years pass, poets seem to be forever young.  In my three minutes, I read three poems.  This was the one I opened with.

Divorce, Poor American Style

She gets to enjoy exclusive use

of the “marital residence”

otherwise known as the one-bedroom

she had years before they met

She gets to keep her name

the name her parents gave her

Thank God, in this country, she gets

to keep her clit too

It’s only fair

She let him keep his balls

 © Mindy Matijasevic 2010

Su Polo and her stage set for 1-1-15  Su Polo designs the stage set for us year after year.  Always special.

I stayed for a few hours and listened to many others.  It’s hard to leave.  But I had two trains to take and my darling dog waiting at home to eat and go out, so I didn’t stay for the whole thing.  I enjoyed much of what I did hear.  So glad I didn’t miss Miriam Stanley, Thaddeus Rutkowski, Bruce Weber, some folks whose names I don’t remember, and Pete Dolack.  I don’t recall the title of Pete’s poem, but it might have been, “My God Is Bigger than Your God.”  It sure took a look at the thinking that leads much of the world.  Somehow he made us laugh.  I treasure that.

About Mindy Matijasevic

Writer of nonfiction prose and poetry; actress; comic; adult basic education instructor. The name of this blog was inspired by a former student, Camille Williams, who once, in a conversation, used the phrase "get my learn on." I loved it, and it stuck in my head.
This entry was posted in Poetry in NYC and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Get Your Poem On/ 28 “Shadow of the Geode” at the Nuyorican Poets Cafe

  1. it was a pleasure to see you and my poetry friends again! a beautiful way to start the new year.

  2. Glad you read at the event again, Mindy. I couldn’t imagine starting the year differently.

Leave a Reply

